The group was awesome…

Yesterday, I had a pleasant surprise. I knew there were a lot of people who are very interested in Windows Server 2008. The original invite is located here. I have been running the Windows Insiders Group for a while and I thought for the good of everyone in the community, I combined Windows Insiders program with the community at large.IMAGE_118

The community met up yesterday evening. The turn out was fantastic. I was expecting less than 60 turning up. To my surprise, 76 turned up. More than 10 of you came without registration (that’s fine, I welcome everyone). I had only 62 on my registration list. Less than 6 pax from the pre-registered list didn’t turn up. 🙂

Thought I take a picture and show you. Sorry, my camera phone isn’t fantastic. Oh, I gotta say sorry to those who may not get a chance to eat the refreshments. I didn’t cater enough for 76 of you. I only catered 60. Sorry, i’ll cater more next month. Promise.

I want to thank Pom Figueroa, for helping me out by presenting. This helped me focus on the logistics of the event and ironing out operation issues. 9 of you took advantage of the community bulk purchase and took back this book for only $65 dollars. It is selling for about $96 or $97 out there on the shelves. To top it up, Cheau Fang from Biz-Era got us 40% discount on your next Microsoft exam. Vouchers were given to you direct. Neither me nor SWUG is making money from this, so please don’t think I make money from this. To qualify for this group buy, you need to be a member of SWUG. To order this book (till end of Mar 08, place your order here).

Active Directory Domain Services (AD DS) in Windows 2008 Technical Overview

Pom gave the Insiders and community group a view of the above topic. We discussed Active Directory Domain Services in Windows Server 2008 and how it ties in with areas such as Security and manageability.

The following were covered;

– Security, Manageability, and Reliability
– Read-Only Domain Controllers
– Role-Specific Servers
– Windows Server 2008 group policy

If you missed this session, do not worry. Here are the resources to help you learn about the session. Only catch is, Pom is not around to answer your question. 😉

Here are some of the related resources;

http://cid-80195647fe07388f.skydrive.live.com/embedrowdetail.aspx/WindowsInsiders/ITPROADD-306ActiveDirectoryDomainServices|5ADDS|6inWi~3.ppt
Step-by-Step Guide for Read-Only Domain Controllers
Demo Recording of Demos shown by Pom

Hope to see you guys in April. 😉 Watch out for my email or monitor this space.

/Dennis

Leave a comment